Skip to content

oatmeal pancakes

September 9, 2010

I guess I have a thing for oatmeal, huh? It’s mostly just that I bought a canister for the muffins, and it’s opened up a whole new world of recipes beyond the basic flour/sugar/butter ones. Cue Aladdin and his magic carpet. (And yes, I am a product of the 90s.)


I had no classes this Labor Day, so my Monday was beautifully empty of casebooks and cold calling. My former roomie, A, came down (or up, I guess) to visit for part of the weekend, and after finally waking up at 11 or so on Monday, we decided to make these for brunch—one that ended up being around 2:30 or so, so really more of a late lunch, but I digress.


So between dancing breaks in the kitchen to Meatloaf, we made these pancakes. Normally, pancakes wouldn’t really be enough to hold me over to dinner, but these were hearty little buggers. They’re crispy on the outside, and I wouldn’t exactly say that they’re light and fluffy, but they’re still delicious. They kind of taste like little oatmeal cakes, and they went perfectly with maple syrup and the berries A brought with her.


I did tweak the recipe a bit from the original. I had one of those little King Arthur bags of whole wheat flour in the cupboard, and I looove me some whole wheat pancakes—I think they’re so much more flavorful and filling than all-white ones. So I subbed in whole wheat for half the flour. Also, I didn’t really feel like getting out a new bag of white sugar, so I used brown sugar, instead. We (and by we I mean A, because I’m a completely inept pancake-flipper) also cooked the pancakes over medium heat instead of medium-low, which may have contributed to the slight sogginess of some of them.


Also, although the instructions really emphasize heavily buttering the pan before the first batch to promote crispiness, I actually think the butter did more soaking into the first few pancakes themselves and making them a little flabby than actually crisping them up. Maybe I was doing it wrong, or maybe I actually over-buttered, but it’s something to keep in mind at that point in the ‘structions.


At any rate, these did a great job of filling us up and energizing us (although maybe we didn’t need the extra energy…see: dancing to Meatloaf) for a day full of experiencing the local culture at the mall. Classy!


Oatmeal Pancakes
Ingredients:
2 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup whole-wheat flour
2 tablespoons brown sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon kosher or coarse salt
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly
1 1/4 cups whole milk [I used skim and it didn’t really seem to make a difference]
1 tablespoon unsulphured (not blackstrap) molasses or 1 tablespoon honey
2 large eggs

Directions:
1. Pulse 1 cup of oats in a food processor or spice grinder until finely ground to make 3/4 cup of oat flour. Alternatively, you could buy oat flour, if such stuff exists and you’re too lazy to make it yourself/don’t have a food processor. Bring 2 cups of water and the remaining 1 cup oats to a boil in a saucepan and simmer on low for 5 minutes. Let cool and reserve 1 cup of the cooked oats; discard the rest or just eat them.
2. Whisk the dry ingredients (oat flour, flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt) together in a large bowl. In a smaller bowl, whisk the butter, milk, cooked oatmeal, honey, and eggs together until thoroughly combined. Gently fold the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Using a light hand is important for tender pancakes; the batter should be slightly thick with a holey surface.
3. Heat a 10-inch skillet or griddle over medium heat until water sizzles when splashed into the pan. Lower to medium-low (or keep at medium). Rub the pan generously with butter; Boyce [the author of the cookbook from which this recipe originates] says this is the key to crispy, buttery edges [but I’m not totally convinced]. Working quickly, dollop 1/4-cup (I used 1/3-cup) mounds of batter onto the pan, 2 or 3 at a time. Once bubbles have begun to form on the top side of the pancake, flip the pancake and cook until the bottom is dark golden-brown, about 5 minutes total. Continue with the rest of the batter.

Source: Smitten Kitchen

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

