Skip to content

corn pancakes

September 16, 2010

These are the pancakes that almost never happened. C and I’d made plans to make breakfast on Sunday morning before my dad absconded with him for the Pats game. But I spent all Saturday afternoon (including the subway rides to and from our kayaking adventure) reading cases, and when I got home, I was both pooped and frustrated by a prof sending out more reading assignments. So I figured I probably wouldn’t want to do anything more than cereal the next morning.

image
And then my cat found a mouse that night. And she had so much fun galloping through the bags of clothes all over my floor (I’m re-organizing my room, so I had a massive closet/drawer clean-out, oh…a month or so ago) with it that she woke me up. She has a tendency to just leave her catches on my floor for me to find/step on in the morning, so I’ve gotten in the habit of trying to out-hunt her and rescue the mice before she can kill them. So I did that.

image
And it was sometime around when I was kneeling with the cat in front of the radiator in the basement, which the mouse had somehow scurried under, that I decided I’d need pancakes the next morning.

image
Oh, and coincidentally, the cat came back into my room the next afternoon with the mouse, which was still (barely) alive. Efficiency is apparently not her strong suit.

image
But anyway, these were some good pancakes! I was intrigued by the concept of corn, usually a dinner food (well…except for corn muffins, but we’ll ignore that for now), in a breakfast food. In fact, Deb from Smitten Kitchen suggests making these without the sugar and serving them with salsa for dinner. Whoa, now!

image
The pancakes themselves were delicious, though. The corn picked up an awesome flavor from being sauteed in butter for a few minutes (I mean, really, what doesn’t?). And the cakes were light and crispy on the edges—very different from those oatmeal pancakes, but still yummy!

All in all, they were worth waking up the extra ten minutes early for.

Sweet Corn Pancakes
Ingredients:
2 tablespoons butter
3/4 cup kernels cut from one large ear sweet corn
1/8 teaspoon salt plus additional for seasoning corn
1 large egg
1 1/4 cups buttermilk
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon sugar
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup cornmeal, any kind
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Directions:
1. Melt butter in a large cast iron skillet or griddle pan over medium heat. Add corn and saute for 4 to 5 minutes, until it begins to brown ever-so-slightly. Sprinkle with salt and set aside to cool. Wipe out skillet.
2. Lightly beat egg in the bottom of a large bowl, then whisk in buttermilk, corn, vanilla, and sugar. In a smaller bowl, whisk flour, cornmeal, baking powder, baking soda, and 1/8 teaspoon salt. Stir dry ingredients into wet, mixing until just combined but still lumpy in appearance.
3. Reheat your skillet or saute pan to medium. Brush the pan with butter and ladle 1/4 cup batter at a time, 2 inches apart. When the pancakes have bubbles on top and are slightly dry around the edges, flip them over and cook them until golden brown underneath. Repeat with remaining batter and serve immediately.

Source: Smitten Kitchen

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

