Skip to content

pumpkin bread

November 25, 2010


Happy Thanksgiving, peeps! I had to interrupt this time warp trip down my recipe archives for this, the most epically-important-to-my-life Thanksgiving recipe. But, you know, if you don’t want to read it, I won’t be offended or anything. Promise.


I first made this recipe at least six or seven years ago, when most of what I made was out of a box and my favorite pie recipe involved mixing canned pumpkin into vanilla pudding and dumping it into a pre-made graham cracker crust. (Side note: that pie was awesome. And it always made a ton of leftover pumpkin pudding, which Little Brother Josh would sit down and eat at the kitchen counter on our day off from school the day before Thanksgiving.) I thought pumpkin bread was the bomb-diggity (uhh, still do), and decided I wanted to try to make it myself.


And oh snap, it was good. And wicked easy, too: you just dump all the wet ingredients into a bowl (a huge, ginormous bowl—seriously, the biggest you can find, because this makes an absurd amount of batter and two obese loaves), mix it up, add the dry ingredients on top and whisk it up a little (technically you’re supposed to mix the dry ingredients up separately, but that’s never worth the extra effort), stir it all up, and put it in the pans. And you end up with the tastiest stuff ever.


So yes, I’ve obviously insisted on making this every single year since then. My world would most likely implode if I were to go a Thanksgiving without making this recipe. I’m pretty sure I still have the notebook where I first copied down the recipe, in my gross, loopy middle-school-ish handwriting (there may or may not have been hearts over the i’s…yikes), from one of my mom’s Taste of Homes. In that version, I’d conveniently forgotten to write down the cooking time (you know, details), so I had to feel it out every year for a while until I finally remembered to write it down one year. Which is good, because you know, it’s just plain torture to open the oven after 30 minutes to see puddles of goo and come to the sad, sad conclusion that pumpkin bread is still 30 more minutes away.

Pumpkin Bread
Ingredients:
3 cups sugar
1 cup vegetable oil
4 eggs, lightly beaten
1 15-oz. can solid-pack pumpkin
3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon ground allspice
1/2 cup water

Directions:
1. In a large bowl, combine sugar, oil, and eggs. Add pumpkin and mix well.
2. Combine the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking powder, cloves, and allspice [or just dump it on top of the wet ingredients and whisk it up, trying not to go down into the pumpkin mixture]; add to the pumpkin mixture alternately with water, beating well after each addition.
3. Pour into two greased 9-inch-by-5-inch-by-3-inch loaf pans [or you could use the normal 8-inch loaf pans—just be ready for really puffy loaves, and maybe stick a baking sheet under the pans just in case]. Bake at 350 degrees for 60 to 70 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool in pans 10 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely. [Or just stuff your face into it right then and there. You know you want to.]

Source: Taste of Home

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

