Skip to content

apple butter

December 19, 2010


After Chris and I picked about 50 pounds of apples back in, um, October (despite the fact that I don’t really like eating apples plain), my family had a lot of extra apples rolling around in the fridge. They started to get kinda lumpy-looking and not really good for eating, so I decided to turn them into apple butter!


I’d been intrigued by the idea of apple butter for a while, even though I had no idea what it was, exactly. I mean, it had butter in the name, so how could it be bad, right? So one Saturday, we just threw all the ingredients together into a pot and watched an episode of Dexter or Mad Men or something while it simmered.


And eventually, we wound up with this deliciousness. I used Cook’s Country’s recipe as a base, since I would obviously trust them with my firstborn child, and Simply Recipe’s spice combination, because Deb on Smitten Kitchen was raving about that recipe and I’d trust her with my second-born child. In the end, we had a smooth, almost creamy, spicy bowl of yumminess that we spread on crackers and ate with cheese. So classy.

Apple Butter
Ingredients:
2 1/2 lb. McIntosh or Golden Delicious apples, 5 to 6, peeled, cored, and sliced thin
1 cup apple cider
1/3 cup sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/4 teaspoon allspice

Directions:
1. Combine all ingredients in a large saucepan and simmer slowly, stirring often, until the apples have broken down into a dark, creamy mixture, about 1 hour and 30 minutes.
2. Process the cooked apple mixture in a food processor until smooth, about 5 seconds. Season with sugar to taste. Cool to room temperature before serving, about 1 hour.

Source: adapted from Cook’s Country and Simply Recipes

Leave a Reply

