Skip to content

maple pumpkin oat muffins

December 24, 2010

You see that recipe title there? That includes every single one of my favorite breakfast flavors. (Minus chocolate chips, but even I think adding chocolate to these would’ve been a bit too much. Have I mentioned that I don’t need a sugar rush at 7 in the morning?) Recently, a recipe for pumpkin oatmeal bread showed up on my Google Reader, and I naturally thought to myself that the combo would make an excellent muffin. Only I’m not quite living on the edge enough to convert the recipe itself into muffins, so I searched for a suitable adaptation. And as soon as I saw this version on my search page, I was all, WHAT. And knew I had to make them immediately, despite the fact that I still had (/have) a few lonely applesauce spice muffins in the back of the freezer.


And you know what? It was WORTH IT. The muffins were like a more complex, slightly less sweet, more toothsome (ha! that’s right! I just used a fancy food-blogger term whose meaning I’m only 90% certain I know!) version of that pumpkin bread I make every year and am slightly obsessed with. While I wouldn’t necessarily say the muffins screamed “maple,” “pumpkin,” or “oats” to me in flavor, all of the subtle, toned-down versions of those came together into a very nice package. It was like a more tasteful version of what I’d imagine my own experimental muffin would be. You know, if I were bold enough to make my own recipes. Which I’m not. Some day…

Maple Pumpkin Oat Muffins
Ingredients:
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup quick-cooking oats [I used old-fashioned, since just about every other oat-using recipe I’ve seen has been very serious about using old-fashioned instead of quick-cooking]
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
1/2 cup pure maple syrup
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/3 cup canola or vegetable oil
1 egg
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Line 12 standard muffin cups with cupcake liners.
2. In a large bowl, mix together the flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger, cloves, and nutmeg.
3. In a medium bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, pumpkin, maple syrup, brown sugar, oil, egg, and vanilla. [Fun fact: if you measure out the oil first, swirl it around the cup a bit, and then use the same measuring cup for the maple syrup, it’ll make it easier for the syrup to pour out of the cup. I gots logic.]
4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and whisk just until the ingredients are well incorporated. Try not to overmix.
5. Divide batter between the 12 muffin cups.
6. Bake for about 22-25 minutes, until the top of the muffins spring back when poked and a toothpick inserted into the center of one of the muffins comes out clean.

Source: Hazel Bloom

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

