Skip to content

iced oatmeal cookies

January 6, 2011
tags:

So this is the recipe that killed my camera. (Indirectly, but I prefer to blame it on the recipe than on my clumsiness.) I picked it up off the counter to take a picture of the sifting prettiness, and the strap caught on the oven door, which yanked the camera out of my hands and, um, there was a big crash. Luckily, I had a telephoto back-up lens that my parents had given me with the camera as my super-awesome graduation gift, and the camera itself wasn’t harmed. (Note to self: the whirring that I hear when I use the telephoto lens is just the image stabilizer being louder on telephoto, NOT my poor camera screaming in pain.) Not so luckily, the local camera shop informed me that it would cost about as much to fix as it would to just buy a new lens. Bummerrr. But at least Amazon was super-fast in shipping the replacement! And in the meantime, I got to take super-dramatic photos of my food with super-shallow depths of field.


And I won’t hold it against the recipe. These were some pretty delicious cookies, considering they didn’t have any chocolate in them and they got crispy after a few days. The cinnamon icing definitely took them over the top. While I never actually tried those packaged iced-oatmeal cookies when I was little, these are pretty much what I would expect a particularly delicious one to taste like. And, bonus! there’s whole wheat flour in them! So they’re basically a breakfast food. A breakfast food that you could probably make in less time than it takes to put together some homemade muffins! Now, that’s a win.


See? Super drama!

Iced Oatmeal Cookies
Ingredients:
COOKIES
2 1/2 cups plus 1 tablespoon old-fashioned oats
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons kosher salt
1 cup dark brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
2 sticks unsalted butter, melted
2 large eggs
ICING
2 1/4 cups powdered sugar
5 to 6 tablespoons whole milk
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees with racks in the upper and lower thirds of the oven. Rub two baking sheets with butter. [Deb used parchment paper because her cookie sheets were hurting and said you should use greased pans if you can to promote spreading. However, I kinda liked how thick hers came out, so I stuck with the parchment.] In a food processor, grind 1/2 cup of oats to a fine powder, then add remaining oats and grind them all together until it resembles coarse meal, with only a few large flakes remaining.
2. Sift dry ingredients into a large bowl, pouring back any bits of grains or other ingredients that remain in the sifter. In a small bowl, whisk butter and eggs until combined. Using a spatula, fold the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients.
3. Scoop balls of dough about 2 to 3 tablespoons in size onto cookie sheets about 3 inches apart. Bake for 16 to 20 minutes, rotating the sheets halfway through. When tops are evenly brown, take them out and transfer them to a cooling rack. Repeat with the remaining cookie dough. Let cookies cool completely before icing.
4. In a bowl, whisk icing ingredients together until smooth. It should have a honey-like consistency. Drizzle the frosting over the cookies. Let the frosting set up for 30 minutes or more before eating. The cookies can be stored in an airtight container for up to a week.

Source: Smitten Kitchen

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

