Skip to content

homemade mallomars

January 10, 2011
tags:


I never really ate Mallomars growing up—I was more of a Chips Ahoy person than anything else. My aversion may or may not have been due to the stories my mom used to tell about her elementary school lunches, when she pulled apart the different components of her Mallomars and squished the marshmallow part between her fingers before eating them. I mean, not that I really had/have any table manners, either, but ew.


Anyway, despite the fact that I didn’t have any fond memories to compare homemade Mallomars to, I’d had these bookmarked for a while. I figured Christmas would be as good a time as any to fit in yet another complicated cookie recipe, especially since I could adapt them for both my chocoholic grandma and my chocophobic grandpa by coating them in dark and white chocolate. (We tell him it’s vanilla. Shhh.)


I was excited to try them out—not only would I get to make homemade marshmallow (and try out that funky unflavored gelatin stuff), but I’d also get to try my hand at Nilla-like cookies *and* they promised to be easy to dip, thus suggesting that they’d end up more presentable than any of my other dipped candies and cookies.


It was definitely fun to set my (or rather, my mom’s—since it wasn’t Christmas yet at this point, I didn’t yet have my beautiful Lola!) stand mixer on the marshmallow mixture, walk away, and then come back some minutes later to see it magically transformed into marshmallow—not to mention to watch it set up after a few more minutes into something downright solid. And I could tell right from the dough phase that the cookie component would be yummy, too. (Not that I sample dough or anything.) And together, they were even better than my imaginary memories of eating Mallomars in a cafeteria. And harder to pull off the marshmallow, too!


Plus, the combination of a very solid dip-ee and a more-liquidy-than-usual dipping sauce made them much easier to prettify—although it did take longer than usual for the chocolate to set because of the added oil. Overall, I’d say these were a success, even though they weren’t chocolatey enough to beat out the double chocolate cookies for first place in my grandma’s heart.

Homemade Mallomars
Ingredients
COOKIE
3 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
3/8 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
12 tablespoons unsalted butter, slightly chilled
3 large eggs
MARSHMALLOW
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup corn syrup
3/4 cup sugar
1 tablespoon powdered gelatin
2 tablespoons cold water
2 egg whites, at room temperature
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
GLAZE
12 oz. semisweet or dark chocolate, coarsely chopped
2 oz. vegetable oil

Directions
1. To make the cookie base, in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the dry ingredients and mix on low speed to blend. Add the butter and mix on low speed until sandy. Whisk the eggs together in a small bowl, then add to the dough and mix on low speed to incorporate. [It’s okay if the dough’s not completely homogenous.] Form the dough into a ball, wrap tightly in plastic wrap, and refrigerate for at least 1 hour (or up to 3 days).
2. When ready to bake, preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Grease a cookie sheet or line with parchment paper or a silicon baking mat. Roll the dough out to 1/8” thickness on a lightly floured surface. Use a 2-inch round cookie cutter to cut out rounds of the dough and transfer them to a prepared baking sheet. Bake for about 10 minutes or until light golden brown. Let cool on the baking sheet for a few minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.
3. To make the marshmallow, combine the water, corn syrup, and sugar in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil. Meanwhile, sprinkle the gelatin over the cold water in a small bowl. Set aside and let dissolve. Continue heating the sugar mixture in the pan until it reaches the soft-ball stage (235 degrees on a candy or instant-read thermometer). Remove the syrup from the heat, add the softened gelatin, and mix to combine.
4. In the clean, dry bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, beat the egg whites on medium-high speed until soft peaks form. Pour the syrup and vanilla extract into the egg whites and continue whipping until stiff peaks form. Transfer the mixture to a pastry bag [I used a gallon-sized ziploc with a corner snipped off] and pipe dollops of marshmallow onto the cooled cookie bases. Let set at room temperature for 2 hours. [I let them set just for 1 because I was in a rush to get somewhere or another and it worked out fine.]
5. To make the chocolate glaze, combine the chocolate and the oil in a heatproof bowl set over simmering water. Heat until the chocolate is completely melted and a smooth glaze has formed. Place a cookie at a time onto a fork, spoon the chocolate glaze over the top until the cookie is covered, and gently shake off the excess. [I plopped the cookies marshmallow-first into the bowl, turned them over, and fished them out with a fork because I’m rebellious like that and/or have balancing issues.] Transfer the glazed cookies to baking sheets lined with wax paper, garnish as desired, and let the glaze set.

Source: Annie’s Eats

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

