Skip to content

pumpkin waffles

January 13, 2011


I hope all my peeps in southern New England enjoyed their snow day yesterday! I took advantage of the day of canceled classes to make my second batch of brownies in a week…but more on that later.


First, these waffles. Of all breakfast goods except bacon, waffles are my favorite. I get tired of pancakes and french toast really easily, but waffles get me in my weak spot: my type-A personality. I mean, how can I resist something that’s gridded out for me so I can cut it into perfect, uniform squares before I eat it? Oh yeah, I am such a joy in the morning.


Chris and I made these waffles for his parents on Christmas Eve morning, and they were a good way to officially kick off Christmas. They were admittedly more complicated than our traditional Krusteaz-mix approach, but they still came together fairly easily, especially since Chris still had a few cans of pumpkin left over from his Thanksgiving Pie Experiment. (Three pie crusts in one night, I tell you!)


And the end result was worth the extra effort, I’d say. These were better than your average waffle! They were spicy and warm and fluffy, more filling and substantial than plain waffles. With a little bit of maple syrup (drizzled evenly so that each well of the waffle is filled, obviously), they were the perfect thing to tide us over until our respective ginormous Christmas Eve/Christmas day dinners. Well, that and a couple sandwiches—I’m not about to suggest that we skip lunch, um, ever.

Pumpkin Waffles
Ingredients:
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
4 large eggs, separated
2 cups well-shaken buttermilk
1 cup canned solid-pack pumpkin
3/4 stick (6 tablespoons) unsalted butter, melted

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 250 degrees and preheat waffle iron. Sift together flour, brown sugar, baking powder and soda, salt, and spices. Whisk egg yolks in a large bowl with buttermilk, pumpkin, and butter until smooth. Whisk in dry ingredients just until combined.
2. In a mixing bowl with a whisk attachment, whisk the egg whites until they hold soft peaks. Fold them gently into the waffle batter, until just combined.
3. Brush waffle iron lightly with oil and spoon batter into waffle iron, spreading quickly. Cook according to manufacturer’s instructions.
4. Transfer waffles to rack in oven to keep warm and crisp. Make more waffles in same manner.

Source: Smitten Kitchen

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

