Skip to content

fudge brownies

January 20, 2011

So, yes, I have a brownie problem. Which means that as soon as I saw this recipe the night before the massive snowstorm hit New England, I knew I had to make them. Despite the fact that I still had a half-batch of peanut butter cheesecake brownies in the kitchen. Details.


I mean, seriously, how can you resist that picture on Craving Chronicles? I made them that very night. And ohhh it was worth it. These things are the perfect texture—fudgy, but not too dense and with that awesome crackly crust on top that I’ve only been able to replicate with the Cook’s Illustrated version. They come together much more simply than the CI version, and they’re not too sweet (a serious no-no for me, which is surprising, given that my ideal is the from-the-box version). I might have found my go-to last-minute brownie-craving fix. Next time, I might even spring for dark cocoa…and/or make a double batch. NOM.

Fudge Brownies
Ingredients:
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
1 heaping cup sugar
2 large eggs
scant 3/4 cup dark cocoa [I just used plain Dutch-process and it turned out fine]
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease an 8-by-8-inch pan.
2. Melt the butter in a saucepan over low heat or in the microwave, then remove from heat. Add the sugar and stir to combine. Return the butter mixture to the heat or microwave briefly [I microwaved it for 60 seconds or so], just until it’s hot, but not bubbling. It will get shiny as you stir it.
3. In a smaller bowl, crack the eggs and beat them with the cocoa, salt, baking powder, and vanilla until smooth.
4. Stir the hot butter mixture into the egg mixture until smooth.
5. Stir in the flour and chocolate chips until just combined. If you want the chips to remain intact in the baked brownies, rather than melting in, let the batter cool in the bowl for about 20 minutes before stirring in the chips. [I was clearly far too impatient to wait, but the chips didn’t melt completely into the batter, so I think it was fine.]
6. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out mostly clean, with some moist crumbs but no loose batter. [I followed King Arthur’s advice from the original recipe and dug around a bit in the center with my toothpick to make sure things were somewhat cooked through.] Cool on a rack before serving.

Source: The Craving Chronicles

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

