Skip to content

broccoli corn muffins

January 25, 2011
tags: ,

When Chris and I were trying to decide what to make on our skiing weekend, there was one thing I demanded: these muffins. They showed up on Ezra Pound Cake advertised as including “everything but the kitchen sink,” but all that mattered to me was corn muffin + cheese + broccoli. That, and muffins for dinner.


After I whisked up the batter, we were seriously skeptical. It was basically a strange slurry of cheese, liquid, and corn muffin mix, and did not look like it was going to bake up into anything remotely tasty. I was worried that I’d skewed the proportions from halving the recipe (18 muffins for 4 people seemed a bit excessive even to me…but I’ma leave the amounts at their original levels for y’all).


But you know what? They turned out just fine. Better than fine, even. As Chris’s mom said, they tasted like little mini-quiches with some cornbread thrown in. And both of those things are the yum, so obviously this was a winner. They went really well with the chicken as a side, plus some bread that I’ll share with you tomorrow probs and, um, you know, veggies or something. (Also, if you, like me, think cottage cheese is the devil reincarnated as goose poop, never fear! You can’t taste it at all in the end product.)

Broccoli Corn Muffins
Ingredients:
1 10-oz. package frozen chopped broccoli
2 tablespoons onion, finely chopped
3/4 cup small curd cottage cheese [I had no idea what small-curd meant, but regular-type worked fine]
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
4 large eggs, slightly beaten
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder [we left this out because it was missing from the pantry and replaced it with a couple shakes of celery salt—not remotely the same thing, but whatevs]
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 cup shredded extra-sharp cheddar cheese
1/3 cup buttermilk
1 8-oz. package corn muffin mix

Directions:
1. Thaw the broccoli according to the package directions [I forgot to do this far enough in advance, so I ran some warm water over it in a colander] and drain well.
2. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Grease 18 standard-sized muffin tin cups.
3. In a large bowl, combine the broccoli, onion, cottage cheese, butter, eggs, salt, garlic powder, pepper, cheese, and buttermilk. Mix well.
4. Add the corn muffin mix, stirring just to combine. [I forgot to do this part separately and just dumped everything in the bowl at once. I suspect that had I done this the right way, they might’ve turned out a little tender-er, but in the end, it didn’t really bother me.]
5. Fill each muffin cup 2/3 full. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes before removing from pans.

Source: Ezra Pound Cake

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

