Skip to content

chocolate chip buttermilk pancakes

February 12, 2011

Allia came to visit again last weekend! So obviously, we needed another breakfast recipe to make when we woke up at noon-thirty like last time (remember the oatmeal pancakes? no? well, they happened, trust me.). We decided on pancakes since I didn’t have any Nutella to fill crepes with (obviously the only viable alternative), so I went through the archives of all my stand-bys in search of a good recipe.

Exhibit A: In which it becomes clear that I still haven’t struck the right balance between too much butter-sogginess vs. not enough butter-stickiness. Mmmm, pancake scrapings.
I have to admit, I was a bit skeptical when I came across this one on Annie’s Eats. I’m not a huge pancake person, so Annie’s rave reviews were a bit hard for me to believe. I mean, they’re just pancakes, right? How many variations could there possibly be, and how much of a difference could each variation possibly make?


(Ahem. You may have noticed that I have several variations on this blog already. Move along.)


Well, Annie was right. These were some goooood pancakes, peeps. They were crispy and light (probably because the batter was relatively/very thin—as in, we could only fit one on the pan at a time because it spread out so much), and just sweet enough for breakfast food, but not so sweet that the chocolate chips added too much. They were so perfect I was glad I made a whole recipe instead of halving it by mistake. Also, I’m making them again tomorrow morning. Hey, I can admit when I’m wrong. Sometimes.

Chocolate Chip Buttermilk Pancakes
Ingredients:
2 eggs
2 cups buttermilk
4 tablespoons butter, melted and cooled
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1/2-3/4 cup chocolate chips

Directions:
1. In a large bowl, lightly beat the eggs. Whisk in the buttermilk, butter, and vanilla extract and mix until well combined. Add the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Mix just until incorporated. [Edit: When Chris and I made these again with real buttermilk instead of the powdered stuff, the batter was significantly thicker, so I would add more buttermilk at this point until it’s sufficiently pourable if you run into that.] Add the chocolate chips and stir just until combined.
2. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees [the toaster oven works like a charm for this one]. Heat a griddle or skillet over medium heat. Melt a thin pat of butter in the pan and spread it around. Once the bottom of the pan has been covered, wipe the butter out gently with a paper towel so that only a very thin [But not too thin! See Exhibit A, above.] film remains. Drop scoops of batter [I use a 1/3 cup-measure] into the pan. Cook the first side until bubbles form on the surface and begin to pop and the bottom is golden brown. Flip gently with a spatula [or get a former roommate to flip ‘em because you’re too much of a spaz] and cook again until cooked through and golden brown on both sides. Transfer the cooked pancakes to an oven-safe dish in the warmed oven and repeat the process with the remaining batter. Makes about 12 pancakes.

Source: Annie’s Eats

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

