Skip to content

roast chicken with dijon sauce

February 13, 2011

So, obviously just pancakes wasn’t enough for one weekend’s worth of cooking. I handed the reigns and my lappy over to Allia to let her choose what we should make for dinner (I know, I’m generous), and she landed on this one, which I was pumped about because I’d just found it on Smitten Kitchen and my short attention span hadn’t yet moved on to another WANT.


Deb really gave this one rave reviews, which, again, I was a bit surprised about considering how simple the sauce was. But yet again, I was wrong. You’d think I’d learn from this and stop questioning the wisdom of the almighty blogs I follow.


The sauce to this one was wonderfully rich, creamy, and tart from the mustard, which also really cut through some of the richness and made it go really well even with the yummy fattiness of the chicken skin. (Mmmm, chicken skin.) And it did come together fairly quickly once I was finally convinced that the chicken was cooked through, which is a plus if, unlike me, you’re sane. But the tastiness was enough to balance out the simplicity for me, so *sigh* I guess it was okay.

Roast Chicken with Dijon Sauce
Ingredients:
3 lb. chicken parts, bone-in and skin-on
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
2 small shallots, thinly sliced
3/4 cup dry white wine
3/4 cup reduced-sodium or sodium-free chicken broth
1/4 cup heavy cream
2 tablespoons smooth Dijon mustard
1 tablespoon finely chopped chives or the green part of scallions

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees with a rack in the middle. Pat chicken dry and season generously with salt and freshly ground black pepper. Heat oil in an ovenproof 12-inch heavy skillet over medium-high heat until it shimmers. Working in 2 batches, brown chicken, skin-side down first and turning once, about 5 minutes per batch.
2. Return all chicken, skin side up, to skillet [or, if you’re like me and have no idea if your mom’s skillets are oven-proof or not and would prefer not to accidentally ruin them, to a 9-by-13-inch baking pan] and roast in oven until just cooked through, 15 to 20 minutes. Transfer chicken to a platter, then add shallots, wine, and broth to pan juices in skillet and boil, scraping up any browned bits, until reduced by half, 2 to 3 minutes. Add cream and boil until slightly thickened, about 1 minute. To thicken the sauce further, turn the heat to high and boil it until it reduces to a consistency you prefer. (Reduced sauce will be salty if not using reduced-sodium broth.)
3. Whisk in mustard, chives, and salt and pepper to taste. Serve chicken with sauce.

Source: Smitten Kitchen

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

