Skip to content

giant double chocolate cookies

February 22, 2011

As soon as I saw Annie’s post on these quarter pounders of glory, I knew what I was making Chris for Valentine’s Day. And yes, I’d made another version of double chocolate cookies the last time I baked a present for him, but obviously when you’re making something for someone, it’s most important to pay attention to what *you* want to make. I’m romantic like that.


Anyway, I think Chris agrees that it was worth his pain and suffering to try these out. The dough comes together fairly easily and the end result is seriously, intensely chocolatey. I did, in fact, nerd out with my scale and measure out each cookie, pressing them into hockey puck shapes (and one heart, because I can be a cornball sometimes). I mean, it’s important to me that my serving of dessert is equal in weight to my serving of meat.


I tried a hunk of one right out of the oven, because even I couldn’t handle eating a whole one myself right before dinner, and oh man, it was so ooey and gooey and wonderful. I was almost worried I’d undercooked them—which is usually not a problem with cookies because they bake so much longer just by leaving them on the sheet, but these are a little too thick for the residual heat to cut through. However, when they cooled, they proved to be perfectly edible (high praise, I know), so no worries if you have the same problem. Chris is a weirdo and likes his cookies frozen, but I can assure you that after a quick pop in the microwave, they’re returned to their melty goodness. (Seriously, it’s almost strange how these cookies are textured when they’re warm—Chris asked if I’d used big hunks of chocolate, because that’s kind of what it looks like, but the normal chips were enough to get that amazing meltiness.) Yum.

Giant Double Chocolate Cookies
Ingredients:
1 cup (2 sticks) cold, unsalted butter, cubed [we keep our butter in the freezer, so I just popped a couple sticks in the fridge for the afternoon and I think they were at just the right consistency by mixing-time]
1 1/4 cups sugar
2 large eggs
1/2 cup dark cocoa powder [I used Dutch-process]
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon coarse salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone mats. In the bowl of an electric mixer, combine the butter and sugar. Beat together on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, 2-3 minutes. Blend in the eggs one at a time, scraping down the bowl as needed. Mix in the cocoa powder until well-blended. Add the flour, salt, and baking powder to the bowl and mix on low speed just until incorporated. Fold in the chocolate chips with a spatula. Transfer the dough to a work surface and knead briefly by hand to be sure the ingredients are well combined.
2. Divide the dough into twelve 4-oz. pieces. Roll each portion of dough into a ball and flatten just slightly into a disc. Place on the prepared baking sheets a few inches apart. Bake 16-20 minutes. Let cool on the baking sheets 5-10 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Source: Annie’s Eats

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

