Skip to content

garlic naan

February 25, 2011
tags:


Before classes last Friday, I was sitting around looking at food blogs when I came across a recipe for naan. I looked in my recipe folder, found one for garlic naan that I’d saved years ago, and my lunch menu was decided. Done.


And yes, I was thinking about naan at 7:30 in the morning.


So as soon as I got home, I mixed together the dough and waited eagerly for it to finish rising. Of course, by the time that happened, it was 3:30 and I’d already eaten lunch.


But it was worth it! Once the rising was over, the naan came together super-quickly, and it was really fun to make (and much easier to flip than pancakes). And most importantly, it was tasty. Totally worth the all-day wait.

Garlic Naan
Ingredients:
1 1/4 teaspoons instant yeast
1/2 cup warm water
2 scant tablespoons white sugar [the original recipe calls for a full 2 tablespoons, but I think it was just a little bit too sweet for my tastes]
1 tablespoon plus 1 1/2 teaspoons milk
1/2 egg, beaten [no need for exact measurements on that one—just eyeball it]
1 teaspoon salt
2 1/4 cups bread flour
1 teaspoon minced garlic
2 tablespoons butter, melted

Directions:
1. In a large bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Let stand about 10 minutes, until frothy. Stir in sugar, milk, egg, and salt. Add 1 cup of flour and stir together. Add more flour by 1/4 cups until enough has been added to make a soft dough. Knead for 6 to 8 minutes on a lightly floured surface, or until smooth. Place dough in a well-oiled bowl, cover with a damp cloth, and set aside to rise. Let rise 1 hour, until the dough has doubled in volume.
2. Punch down dough and knead in garlic.
3. Pinch off small handfuls of dough about the size of a golf ball. Roll into balls and place on a tray. Cover with a towel and allow to rise until doubled in size, about 30 minutes.

4. Turn the stovetop to medium. [The original recipe calls for medium-high, but that meant that my naans…uh…or whatever the plural of “naan” is…were a little bit doughy on the inside still by the time the outside charred. If you’re still running into that problem at medium, I would turn the heat down even lower.] Put a little butter in a large skillet and wait for it to melt. [More beef with the original recipe: it called for spraying with Pam, but I think Pam burns significantly faster than normal fat sources, which meant that I had to spend forever scrubbing burn marks off the pan once I was done. Also, I was so frantic to spray on more when things started to burn that I tried to wrench the cap off with one hand, which resulted in it shooting across the room and sending the dog into a panic. Screw health and go for easier cleanup.] Flatten each ball quickly before cooking. Paint melted butter on both sides of the naan dough. Give the dough one good stretch, like pizza dough [don’t worry if it looks super-thin!], just before you place it on the skillet. Use a spatula to hold the naan down for about 5 seconds before you let it rise up. Check the edges for doneness (it won’t take long). Flip over before it gets burned and repeat.

Source: Ummm I have no idea, but it looks a lot like this one.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

