Skip to content

pumpkin cinnamon streusel muffin

May 17, 2011

Oh, heyyy therrre. No one’s noticed my total fail at posting for the past month, riiight? I wish I could say I’ve been a good blogger, diligently cooking up new recipes so that I didn’t have time to actually write about them. But, um, it was more like I was drowning in a lava-sea of finals and barely had a chance to turn the oven on. But guess what! They’re over, and I’ve officially survived my 1L year!


So, um, back to business. This was one of those recipes I saw and immediately knew I’d have to make. Pumpkin + streusel = buh-whaaa? So when I decided to make something to bring in for my birthday (because I’m in approximately fourth grade), these came to mind.


And oh, man, they were yummy. Pumpkiny and spicy, with a gooey cinnamon swirl and a crunchy topping. They tasted like something you’d get at Starbucks, only about 1/4 of the size (I’ll work on that next time). They were perfectly soft and moist, too—so much sot hat the leftovers, uh, might have been crushed into pumpkin pellets at the bottom of my backpack by the time I got home from school. But by that point, birthday dinner was imminent, so it didn’t really matter.

Pumpkin Cinnamon Streusel Muffins
Ingredients:
MUFFINS
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 1/2 teaspoons nutmeg
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/2 cup canola oil
1/3 cup water
1 cup canned pumpkin
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
FILLING
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
TOPPING
1 1/4 cups oats
1 tablespoon flour
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
dash of nutmeg
6 tablespoons cold butter, cut into chunks

Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line two 12-cup muffin tins with paper liners or spray with cooking spray. Set aside.
2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Set aside.
3. In a large bowl, whisk together sugar, oil, water, pumpkin, eggs, and vanilla extract. Whisk until smooth and combined.
4. Slowly stir in the flour mixture. Mix until ingredients are combined.
5. For the filling, in a small bowl, mix the brown sugar and cinnamon.
6. For the topping, in a small bowl, mix together the oats, flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Mix in the butter with your hands until the mixture is crumbly.
7. Fill muffin cups halfway full with the pumpkin batter. Sprinkle the brown sugar cinnamon filling over each muffin cup. Fill the muffin cups with the remaining batter. Top each muffin with streusel topping.
8. Bake for 17-20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Remove pans from oven and cool on wire rack.

Source: Two Peas and Their Pod

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

