Skip to content

strawberry mango salsa

June 20, 2011

Guys. Guys. Guys. Are you listening? I am obsessed with this salsa. Obsessed. I made it twice in one week, and I’m kinda thinking it’s been too long since the last time I made it, two or so weeks ago. I miss it. I want it back in my belly. 


I was, admittedly, skeptical at first. I couldn’t really understand how crunchy-salty and juicy-sweet would go together. But all the ingredients individually were, I knew, so delicious that I couldn’t turn it down. So in ten minutes or so, Allia and I had everything chopped up and in the bowl, and roughly ten minutes later, it was mostly gone. The sweetness of the strawberries and mangos went really well with the mild creaminess of the avocado, and the little bits of red onion and traces of lime juice (I, um, have yet to actually try it with the jalapeno, much to Chris’s chagrin) cut through all that and reminded you that it was, in fact, a salsa. And yes, it all went awesomely with tortilla chips. WANT. 

Strawberry Mango Salsa
Ingredients:
1 cup strawberries, hulled [uhh, what now?] and diced
1 medium mango, peeled, pitted, and diced
1/2 avocado, peeled, pitted, and diced [we ended up using a whole avocado, but that’s because avocados are amazing, so if you don’t feel the same way, uh, cut back down to 1/2, or maybe consider not trying this one?]
2 tablespoons diced red onion
1 tablespoon diced jalapeno
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro [we leave this out]
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
tortilla chips or pita chips, for serving

Directions:
1. In a medium bowl, stir together strawberries, mango, avocado, onion, jalapeno, cilantro, and lime juice. Season with salt to taste. Serve. 

Source: Two Peas and Their Pod

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

